FIFA Best Player of 2016 – voting revealed

Cristiano Ronaldo has been crowned the Best Footballer of 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo has been crowned the Best Footballer of 2016

The heart of the matter, FIFA Best Player.

The voting for the player and coach categories was done by national team captains and coaches. Select journalists and, for the first time, an online fan poll.
Each vote counted for 25 percent of the points – 1st getting 5 points, 2nd getting 3 and 3rd getting 1 point.

This was the final result –

Cristiano Ronaldo: 34.54% of total votes

Lionel Messi: 26.42%

Antoine Griezmann: 7.53%

Here is how every national captain and coach voted and here is a selection of each of their picks:

Captains, FIFA Best Player.

Lionel Messi (Argentina): Suarez, Neymar, Iniesta

Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Armenia): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Dani Alves (Brazil): Messi, Neymar, Suarez

Luka Modric (Croatia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar

Wayne Rooney (England): Ronaldo, Suarez, Vardy

Manuel Neuer (Germany): Kroos, Ozil, Lewandowski

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy): Messi, Bale, Ronaldo

Sunil Chhetri(India): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Arjen Robben (Netherlands): Ronaldo, Kroos, Lewandowski

Steven Davis (Northern Ireland): Messi, Ronaldo, Griezmann

Robert Lewandowski(Poland): Neuer, Bale, Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal): Bale, Modric, Ramos

Seamus Coleman (Republic of Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez

Darren Fletcher (Scotland): Ronaldo, Suarez, Messi.

Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar.

Sergio Ramos (Spain): Ronaldo, Messi, Iniesta.

Martin Skrtel(Slovakia): Suarez, Sergio Ramos, Ronaldo

Igor Akinfeev(Russia): Messi, Ronaldo, Bale

Arda Turan(Turkey): Messi, Neymar, Iniesta

Diego Godin(Uruguay): Suarez, Griezmann, Iniesta

Michale Bradley(USA): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Ashley Williams (Wales): Bale, Messi, Lewandowski.


Marcelo Lippi(China PR): Ronaldo, Griezmann, Buffon

Gareth Southgate (England): Ronaldo, Griezmann, Kante

Didier Deschamps(France): Griezmann, Ronaldo, Messi

Joachim Low(Germany): Kroos, Ozil, Neuer

Stephan Constantine(India): Bale, Lewandowski, Suarez

Michael O’Neill (Northern Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Martin O’Neill (Republic of Ireland): Bale, Buffon, Kante

Gordon Strachan (Scotland): Messi, Suarez, Aguero

Julien Lopetegui (Spain): Messi, Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos

Chris Coleman (Wales): Bale, Sanchez, Vardy.


2 of 3